• Ten new categories introduced to the 2016 International Content Marketing Awards
  • New line up of 26 award categories reflects industry growth
  • Changes made following extensive audit and CMA industry research

The Content Marketing Association has announced the expansion of its International Content Marketing Awards to reflect continued industry growth and trends.

Taking place on November 22, The CMA International Content Marketing Awards will now honour ten brand new categories: Best Use of Social, Best Real-Time Activation, Best FMCG, Best Distribution Strategy, Best Use of Data and Insight, Best Content on Owned Media Channels, Best Annual Content Strategy, Best Use of Monetised Content, Best Use of Innovation, Best Strategist/ Planner of the Year.

These changes have been informed by CMA research, looking at industry trends such as content marketing verticals, mediums and spend, plus an audit of last year’s entries. These trends are explored in depth in its three industry reports: Content Marketing and Data Intelligence,  The Role of Social in Content Marketing and Video Content for Engagement.

Clare Hill, MD, CMA, said: “This is a significant moment for the CMA, as we recognise the growing power and diversity of the content marketing industry in these changes to the awards. The evolution of the award categories reflects trends we’ve seen within our membership, as well as findings from our three industry reports and previous award entries. We are also servicing a gap in the industry based on themes that have emerged over the last year. It’s hugely exciting to be able to introduce ten new categories to our ever-growing International Content Marketing Awards, as we welcome entries from across a robust and evolving industry.”

The decisions were made unanimously by the CMA Management Team: Clare Hill, MD, The CMA; Andrew Hirsch, CEO, John Brown Media & Chairman of The CMA; Clare Broadbent, CEO, Cedar; Sean King, CEO, Seven; Matt Adams, MD, iProspect UK; Vince Medeiros, Publisher, TCOLondon.

The International Content Marketing Awards will be open for entry from June 13, 2016.

The new awards will include a new field in the online entry process which stipulates that the CMA maintain the right to verify entries and request data sources.  The new online award system will be with Award Force: http://www.awardforce.com

The 2015 International Content Marketing Awards received over 400 award entries from 100 agencies, representing work of over 200 brands and businesses. These entries came from 21 different countries, including nominations and winners from UK, USA, Hong Kong, Australia, Sweden and Israel.

Full list of Awards for 2016:

  1. Best Automotive
  2. Best FMCG
  3. Best Finance
  4. Best Travel
  5. Best Membership
  6. Best Retail Consumer
  7. Best Non-Retail Consumer
  8. Best Internal
  9. Best Real-Time Activation
  10. Best Specialist
  11. Best B2B
  12. Best Print
  13. Best Social
  14. Best Video
  15. Editor of the year
  16. Designer of the year
  17. Best use of Illustration
  18. Best use of Photography
  19. Strategist / Planner of the year
  20. Best Distribution Strategy
  21. Best Use of Data & Insight
  22. Best Annual Content Strategy
  23. Best Content on Owned Media Channels
  24. Best Use of Monetised Content
  25. Best Use of Innovation
  26. Grand Prix